ORHC announces all-conference selections

Special to 110forChrist.com

The Ohio River Homeschool Conference has announced its selections for all-conference honors as voted on by the conference coaches.

Bluegrass United’s Reece Mateyoke (24) goes for a basket against Western Hills on Feb. 1, 2022. Mateyoke was named the ORHC Player of the Year (Photo by John Herndon)

Boys earning first team all-conference honors are Reece Mateyoke, Bluegrass United; Zach Carpenter, Wellspring; Will Haubenreich, Bluegrass United; Jack Farnsley, Columbus Hawks; and Layton Greeley, Hearts for Christ. 

Mateyoke was named the conference Player of the Year. He averaged 14.6 points and10.1 rebounds per game.

Boys’ second team all-conference selections are Caleb Hartlage, Christian Educators Consortium; Sam Omer, Hearts for Christ; Hayden Stamper, Columbus Hawks; Caleb Burnett, Wellspring; and J.P. Coffman, Bluegrass United.

Honorable mention selections are Krin Sherma, CEC; Guy Duerson, Bluegrass United; Abel Shreve, Hearts for Christ; and Nathan Johnson, CEC.

The all-conference defensive team selections are Ben Rank, Wellspring; Liam Hannsen – Bluegrass United; Sam Omer – Hearts for Christ; J.P. Coffman – Bluegrass United; and Tyler Hartman, Hearts for Christ.  

All-ORHC selection Will Haubenreich, of Bluegrass United, shoots a free throw during the Bluehawks’ game at Western Hills on Feb. 1. (Photo by John Herndon)

Rank was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Defensive honorable mention selections were Isaiah Thompson of Wellspring, Dukes, Sharma and Burnett.

Girls’ all conference selections are Lily Moore, Christian Educators Consortium; Emma Duerson, Bluegrass United; Kate Santrock, Bluegrass United; Addi Franz, CEC; and Gwynnie Franz, CEC. 

Moore was named conference Player of the Year.  Alli McGuire of Wellspring was named honorable mention.

The girls’ all-conference defensive team is Gracie Gordon, Bluegrass United; MilbreAnn Coffman, Bluegrass United; Alexis King, CEC: and Moore and McGuire.

Honorable mention selections are Ashlynn Wilkinson and Anni Rossi of Wellspring and Gwynnie Franz.

Bluegrass United swept the boys’ and girls’ varsity and junior varsity championships during the conference tournaments, held Feb. 11-12 at The Cross Center, Midway.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s